आर्थिक कार्य विभाग DEPARTMENT OF Economic Affairs


You are here

Home >> G20 | INDIA


About Us
G 20

  • G20 was established in September 1999 as a forum of the Finance Ministers and the Central Bank Governors of the 19 major Economies and the EU in the aftermath of East Asian Financial Crisis of 1997.
  • Elevated to Head of State’s forum in 2008 at the initiative of the then US President Bushin the wake of the global economic and financial crisis.
  • Members (G-8 + 11 emerging economies+ EU): USA, Japan, Germany, UK, France, Italy, Canada , Russia, Argentina, Australia, Brazil, China, India, Indonesia, Mexico, Saudi Arabia, South Korea, South Africa and Turkey, and the EU (represented by the President of the European Council and by the European Central Bank)
  • Account for 85% of the Global GDP; nearly 76% global trade; represents 64% (two thirds) of the world's population.
  • 7 Special invitees – include non-member countries and institutions : 2 African Countries (Senegal- Chair of NEPAD; and Guinea - Chair of Africa Union in 2017), Spain, Singapore, Norway, Netherlands, Vietnam (Chair of Asia Pacific Economic Cooperation (APEC).
  • International Organizations – the International Monetary Fund (IMF), the World Bank (WB), the Financial Stability Board (FSB), the Organization for Economic Cooperation and Development (OECD), the World Trade Organization (WTO), the United Nations (UN), the International Labour Organization (ILO), the Financial Action Task Force (FATF), the Bank of International Settlements (BIS), the United Nations Conference on Trade and Development (UNCTAD) and the World Health Organization (WHO) - provide expert support and advice; reports and position papers relating to the Agenda Items - invited to participate in the Leader's forum and G20 Working Groups meetings.
  • After the 5th Summit in 2010, Development Agenda has been included- energy, trade, anti-corruption, employment, human resource development, food security.
  • The Presidency is annual and held on rotation by the member countries. Post 2015, annual presidency of the G20 is to be chosen from rotating regional groups, starting with the Asian grouping comprising of China, Indonesia, Japan and Korea. The groups are as follows (with the years when the countries held the Presidency)


China (2016)
France (2011)
Argentina (2018)
Australia (2014)

Germany (2016)
Russia (2013)
Canada (2010)

Japan (2019)
Mexico (2012)
South Africa
Saudi Arabia

South Korea (2010)
United Kingdom (2009)
Turkey (2015)
USA (2008, 2009)

  • G20 does not have any permanent Secretariat.
  • Two Tracks for discussions:
  • (i) Finance Track:
  • # Focus On
    • Global economy
    • Framework for Strong, Sustainable and Balanced Growth
    • Tax Issues: Base Erosion and Profit Shifting, Automatic Tax Information Exchange
    • Financial Regulatory Reform
    • International Financial Architecture
    • Financial Inclusion and Remittances
    • Other issues: Fossil fuel subsidies, Green finance, Anti-terrorism financing and Compact with Africa
  • # Meetings held at the level of
    • Finance Ministers and Central Bank Governors
    • Finance Deputies and Central Bank Deputies
    • Working Groups
  • (ii) Sherpa’s Track:
  • # Focus On
    • Employment
    • Climate and Energy
    • Trade and Investment
    • Agriculture and Food Security
    • Anti-Corruption
    • Sustainable Development Goals and Africa Partnership
    • Digitalization
    • Health
    • Displacement and Migration
  • # Meetings held at the level of
    • Sherpas (assisted by sous-Sherpas)
    • Ministerial (for few issues)
    • Working Groups
  • (iii) Engagement Groups -Business 20 (B20), Labour 20 (L20), Think Tanks 20 (T20), Youth 20 (Y20), Women 20 (W20), Science20 (S20) and Civil 20 (C20)

1.2008 Washington Leaders Declaration

2.2009 London Leaders Declaration

3.2009 Pittsburgh Leaders Declaration

4. 2010 Toronoto Leaders Declaration

5.2010 Seoul Leaders Declaration
6. 2011 Cannes Leaders Declaration

7. 2012 Los Cabos Leaders Declaration
8. 2013 Saint_Petersburg Leaders Declaration

9.2014 Brisbane Leaders Declaration
10.2015 Antalya Leaders Declaration

11. 2016 Hangzhou Leaders Declaration

12.Hamburg Leaders Declaration

13.Buenos Aires Leaders Declaration

G20 Past Presidencies websites links

2nd Sherpa Family Photo
Footer Menu